Basic Chicken Stock

Eliminating Foods Waste in the Covid-19 Era or ‘How I Lost My First Million in the Garbage Can’

Francois de Melogue

--

Making chicken stock at home is extremely easy to do and very cost-effective. It is the natural (and free) by-product of roasting a chicken. Here’s the basic premise: Put the chicken bones and vegetables into a stockpot, cover with cold water then simmer away. It really is as simple as that.

A Simple Roast Chicken

When I originally wrote about chicken stock prior to Covid-19 changing our world, I described how many people were rediscovering the advantages of healthy home cooking. That more people were eating whole, unprocessed foods and shopping at their local farmers' market. Now that Covid-19 has changed the food landscape, we are heading towards a more depression-era strategy of being thrifty and frugal with our food supply.

Making Chicken Stock At Home

The longer Covid-19 affects our lives. the more I draw on my early experiences as a Chef in some great restaurants to help those struggling at home. The transition from eating out several meals a week to home cooking can surely benefit from some sage chef advice.

“I lost my first million in the garbage can.” — Michel LeBorgne, former Chef/Instructor, NECI

--

--

Francois de Melogue

My earliest attempt at cookery began with the filleting of my sister's goldfish at age 2 and cooking my pet rabbits by age 7. Life has been downhill ever since.